Yik Yak focus group


I’ve recently been thinking about how long students should spend on their essays (see my blog post on the subject) . I thought it might be an idea to post something up to Yik Yak and see if I’d get a response, and I was pleased that I got quite a lot of interesting responses, from 11 different people (as the app is anonymous I suppose I can’t be sure they are students).

The responders appear to be from a range of departments and years and the time spent ranges from a day to 2 weeks, but with most people seeming to suggest between 3 days to a week. I have decided to include the whole conversation below, despite the fact I regret using the phrase ‘read superficially’ in my response, when I meant ‘read pragmatically’, but Yik Yak is quite an informal and immediate forum and I don’t tend to draft my responses!

Nonetheless I think this was a useful exercise, kind of like a Yik Yak focus group, I’ll have a think what I might ask ‘the herd’ in future…

Screenshot from Yik Yak conversation about time spent on essays

Yik Yak conversation about how long to spend on an essay.

About digitalscholar

I am a sociologist with an interest in new technology. Previously I’ve worked on a number of projects at Lancaster University and the Open University looking at the use of new technologies and social media by researchers. I was also a social sciences teaching fellow at the foundation centre at Durham University teaching sociology and anthropology. I am now a senior lecturer at the University of West London's Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning where I oversee the foundation provision and support retention. I'm sure I'll still be interested in, and occasionally blog about, tech related things. I use this blog to post thoughts about using new technologies in my professional academic life and wider thoughts and links relating to technology more generally.
This entry was posted in Teaching, yik yak. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yik Yak focus group

  1. leohavemann says:

    Very interesting post Nick. I definitely think more like the English and Philosophy students where it comes to reading. I think reading a wide of range of sources superficially is an excellent first step but I would be concerned that I don’t actually know the content of them well enough to base a complex argument around them if I stop reading there and start writing. But I agree with your point about the diminishing returns.

  2. I like the concept of using Yik Yak to poll student opinion. It’s interesting to see the responses others can relate to being voted up.

Leave a Reply

