Going Walkabout


This time next week I will be in Sydney at the start of a trip around Australia. I will be spending 10 days on a 3 city tour (Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra), meeting lots of interesting people and learning about how higher education operates down under.

I’m going there thanks to two projects I’m currently involved in, the SPIRES project is the reason I’m heading to Melbourne (more here) and my SSI fellowship, which is why I’m meeting people who produce software in academia, and those they try and support.

I expect to be blogging a lot while I’m down there, probably most days, and the people I’m meeting range from those interested in supporting researchers, teaching mature students, learning and teaching more generally and social media/ technology more broadly. So far I have firm plans to meet 7 people from 7 different universities across the 3 cities, which will hopefully give me a good idea of how things operate across the spectrum. Although I’m always keen to add more meetings to my itenerary!

SAMSUNG

As well as meeting lots of people I’m also interested in hearing about how people manage to organize their work over a long distance and fairly long period of time. As you can see I’ve found a physical map quite a useful tool for visualising my trip, but I’m already having some problems trying to arrange my itenerary over Outlook in multiple time zones (although I’m getting the hang of this). Any tools or tips for keeping on top of the day job?

About digitalscholar

I am a sociologist with an interest in new technology. Previously I’ve worked on a number of projects at Lancaster University and the Open University looking at the use of new technologies and social media by researchers. I was also a social sciences teaching fellow at the foundation centre at Durham University teaching sociology and anthropology. I am now a senior lecturer at the University of West London's Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning where I oversee the foundation provision and support retention. I'm sure I'll still be interested in, and occasionally blog about, tech related things. I use this blog to post thoughts about using new technologies in my professional academic life and wider thoughts and links relating to technology more generally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Going Walkabout

  1. anacanhoto says:

    Sounds brilliant – just like the right mix of networking, research and pleasure. Looking forward to reading your updates.

Leave a Reply

