My life as a media-zombie


I’m putting on an event on Wednesday Nov 2nd as part of the ESRC’s festival of social science. I’m really looking forward to the event, which will be a short talk by me and a screening of the 1932 film White Zombie in the fantastic Newcastle lit and phil. The idea for this event came out of a book chapter I’ve co-written for/ about Zombies in the Academy which will be coming out early next year, and which I blogged about earlier.

The ESRC put out a press release last week about the event and there has been quite a lot of interest since. I’ve been interviewed by a colombian magazine, a press agency and the dicovery channel (well the blog). The press release has been cannibalised in various forms throughout the blogosphere and my zombie self has spread across the web with my 5 minutes of fame 🙂

Weirdly my namesake, who happens to be the director of the IPPR has also been in the press talking about zombies, saying much the same thing as me (unsuprisingly) for the BBC.

One slightly troubling part of the whole thing happened when I featured in the Register blog where it attracted a lot of comments. Many of the comments were pretty positive although there were a few trollish type comments which weren’t very nice to read! Never read the comments to an article about yourself! 

Zombies have feelings too :-z

About digitalscholar

I am a sociologist with an interest in new technology. Previously I’ve worked on a number of projects at Lancaster University and the Open University looking at the use of new technologies and social media by researchers. I was also a social sciences teaching fellow at the foundation centre at Durham University teaching sociology and anthropology. I am now a senior lecturer at the University of West London's Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning where I oversee the foundation provision and support retention. I'm sure I'll still be interested in, and occasionally blog about, tech related things. I use this blog to post thoughts about using new technologies in my professional academic life and wider thoughts and links relating to technology more generally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

