6 months in, our facebook page, and integration, integration, integration?


Our facebook page is about 6 months old now and I think it is a good moment to take stock of what we’ve done, and what we plan to do. I’m finding it quite useful to revisit previous posts in this series to see how we’ve progressed, and also it looks like I will be presenting the whole project in July and these posts will be a good starting point!

We’re currently at 161 ‘fans’ and still growing, which is pleasing. The number of interaction has remained fairly stable (ie a steady trickle of queries). I’ve used the site to promote a promo video that we had professionally produced, and a video I produced myself, which I’ve blogged about previously.

I’ve also created my first facebook app, which basically ported our already existing online enquiry form into a facebook tab (I’ve blogged about that here). We approached a couple of social media companies and one of them, omobono who I’ve been very impressed with so far, is going to develop a landing tab that will link our home page, online enquiry form, and page wall into something snazzy and professional looking. This will then enable us to have a go at facebook adverts which is certainly a promising avenue.

So I think the story of the last 3 months or so has been about integration. Integration with our website (well the online form anyway), our youtube videos and the beginnings or integration with our marketing strategy. I think this is pretty significant. Already I’ve been hearing a lot about the ‘web presence’ of Durham University, or the Foundation Centre and I think that this is pretty important as it seems to mark a shift which would include social media stuff like FB and YT. Whether this might lead to more control from the top only time will tell!

About digitalscholar

I am a sociologist with an interest in new technology. Previously I’ve worked on a number of projects at Lancaster University and the Open University looking at the use of new technologies and social media by researchers. I was also a social sciences teaching fellow at the foundation centre at Durham University teaching sociology and anthropology. I am now a senior lecturer at the University of West London's Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning where I oversee the foundation provision and support retention. I'm sure I'll still be interested in, and occasionally blog about, tech related things. I use this blog to post thoughts about using new technologies in my professional academic life and wider thoughts and links relating to technology more generally.
This entry was posted in Facebook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

