All Hands Meeting 2009 – day one


I have just finished day one of the AHM 2009 and thought I’d post some comments and notes from today before I head to the pub (why oh why does any trip to oxford have to include a beer in lamb and flag/ eagle and child?!!).  Rather than comment on everything I’ve seen or attended today this is an edited highlights package, given the conference is at Oxford United’s KaSSam stadium perhaps a Match of the Day style is appropriate. [for an entertainingly partisan explanation of Ka$$am see wikipedia].

I spent most of the day in the ‘sharing and collaboration’ stream and saw a number of interesting presentations. The first was from Jason Hoyt about Mendeley. I’ve seen a number of presentations about mendeley in the past but one thing that has troubled me is the fact that the project is venture capitalist funded and I’ve wondered where the backers were expecting to get their future revenue from. I asked Jason about this and he mentioned that some research groups were interested in paying to host Mendeley as a standalone instance for their own researchers. I have already heard of one group at the OU interested in doing this (a future interview/ case study for the digital scholarship project…) but I’m unsure about the viability of this as a revenue stream. I guess universities are already paying for site licenses for EndNote etc. so I suppose there is money to be made there. Jason did have a nice quote about making ” making data social, not the scientist”.

The next talk was about project management tools for e-Research by Matteo Turilli. I think that there are interesting discussions to be had more generally about project management within academia, my experiences to date are mixed to say the least!

So far I’ve chatted to lots of people, including one person who is submitting a rival bid for a JISC ITT so we had an interesting chat about that!

I can’t help but feel that this is quite a long and boring post (I don’t suppose wordpress has a gadget to tell me how many of the people who look at my blog actually read all of it?)

About digitalscholar

I am a sociologist with an interest in new technology. Previously I’ve worked on a number of projects at Lancaster University and the Open University looking at the use of new technologies and social media by researchers. I was also a social sciences teaching fellow at the foundation centre at Durham University teaching sociology and anthropology. I am now a senior lecturer at the University of West London's Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning where I oversee the foundation provision and support retention. I'm sure I'll still be interested in, and occasionally blog about, tech related things. I use this blog to post thoughts about using new technologies in my professional academic life and wider thoughts and links relating to technology more generally.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

